Reviews

What people are saying about Appin Bay View




Amazing - Rating 5/5

A brilliant experience provided, with breathtaking views. Mike our host was like no other, he truly went above and beyond. Would highly recommend and will be returning again!

Reviewer:Barney A | Wed 26th Feb 2020 | 4 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Mike was an excellent host. Views were amazing. Breakfast was perfect.

Reviewer:Gary C | Mon 17th Feb 2020 | 4 months ago


Superb- Rating 5/5

Everything was great :the room, the breakfast and the owner !

Reviewer:marion vo v | Sat 15th Feb 2020 | 4 months ago


Brilliant views, comfy rooms and warm people! - Rating 5/5

Unparalleled views of the bay and Castle Stalker. The balcony was by far the highlight of the property. Rooms were very comfortable and the suite was very spacious and beautiful. The hearty Scottish breakfast, including the warm bagels and croissants were all delicious. Mike went above and beyond to make our stay more pleasant. All in all, a place we would definitely and come back!

Reviewer:Konstantinos T | Wed 5th Feb 2020 | 4 months ago


A wee Highland gem - Rating 5/5

From the location to the room itself everything was perfection. A warm welcome from host Mike started our stay of positively. Our room, the Castle View was spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent on both mornings during our stay. We hope to return in the spring to further explore this part of Argyll.

Reviewer:Iain G | Mon 11th Nov 2019 | 7 months ago


What a Gem!- Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Appin Bay View.Great food, fantastic views, lovely rooms and top recommendations from Mike the owner. Definitely be visiting again next year.

Reviewer:Cheryl W | Tue 24th Sep 2019 | 9 months ago


Fabulous! - Rating 5/5

Well appointed room, spacious and comfortable. Awesome view of Castle Stalker and Loch Linnhe. Wonderful host, yummy breakfast, and easy access to Glencoe highlands and Oban. After traveling Scotland for two weeks, this was a welcome respite. Would definitely return for an longer period. Thanks, Mike, for a memorable experience!

Reviewer:Patricia K | Sun 22nd Sep 2019 | 9 months ago


Dream view - Rating 5/5

The luxery room with a great bed had a realy spectaculair view on Stalker Castle. Sorry that niet english is not good enough to expres what our feelings were on this brilliant place. Mike is a perfect host and so Nice! Delicious food only 100 meters Seat at the Old Inn. We will be back😍

Reviewer:Marjolijn P | Thu 12th Sep 2019 | 9 months ago


An Exceptional Stay in an Exceptional Place! - Rating 5/5

Thanks to a friend's recommendation and a quirk of fate, we recently spent 2 nights at Appin Bay View as the sole guests.From the warm welcome from our attentive and informative host Mike who provided us with delicious and copious breakfasts, to the spacious and comfortable room overlooking the best view in Scotland, we had the most perfect time!

Reviewer:Eleanor J | Thu 12th Sep 2019 | 9 months ago


A perfect place to stay - Rating 5/5

Ideal location to visit the region. Large, comfortable and very clean room. Wonderful view on the bay and the castle. Very nice owner who does everything to satisfy his guests. Excellent and varied breakfast. A place to recommend without restriction.

Reviewer:Alain T | Fri 6th Sep 2019 | 9 months ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly host, lovely room, fabulous views and a great breakfast! What more could you want!

Reviewer:Linda S | Fri 6th Sep 2019 | 9 months ago


Superbe séjour- Rating 5/5

Accueil chaleureux.un établissement ideal avec une vue incroyable.Merci beaucoup à Mike.

Reviewer:CAROLE P | Thu 5th Sep 2019 | 9 months ago


Wonderful view! Wonderful hosts - Rating 5/5

The place has a lot of charm and offers stunning views. The breakfast was excellent and the host Mike goes out of his way to make the experience perfect. Wouldhighly recommend Appin Bay View!!

Reviewer:Sujoy G | Thu 29th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Nice views and nice stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you Mike for that days. We enjoyed a lot our stay in your house. Good breakfast, amazing views and thanks for speak slowly for our poor english.

Reviewer:MIGUEL ANGEL MARTINEZ M | Tue 20th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

A fantastic stay! Clean, great breakfast, a stunning view, and Michael make you feel at home.

Reviewer:Elena G | Wed 31st Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Great place, great view, great host- Rating 5/5

Mike is offering you a very warm welcome and gives you all the advice you need to enjoy the region. The view directly on castle Stalker is absolutely amazing and the rooms are comfy and spacious. I would recommend for everyone staying in the neighborhood.

Reviewer:Mickael C | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

I'm very happy I have stayed at Appin Bay View. Everything has been OK. Thanks Mike for your availability and kindness. The place is wonderful. I hope to come back soon 😊

Reviewer:Simona L | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Great Place! - Rating 5/5

Great place! Really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:Barry y | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Appin Bay View - Rating 5/5

We stayed 2 nights as we were doing a whirlwind trip trying to see as much of Scotland as possible.The view from our room was amazing!Service was great.Mike even booked our dinner reservation knowing we were arriving somewhat late.Would loved to have stayed longer just for some rest and relaxation.

Reviewer:Virginia W | Sat 20th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Return Visit - Rating 5/5

This was my second stay at 'Appin Bay View'.Having been my base for an exploration of the highlands by motorcycle last year I returned for a walking holiday with my wife this year.It is perfectly located for boat trips from Oban to Mull and Iona, and walking in Glencoe, Fort William and Mallaig.The view from the balcony is unforgettable.Mike is a great host giving good advice on the local area, day trips and eating out. His Scottish breakfast sets you up for the day but the Thai breakfast is not to be missed.

Reviewer:Phil T | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


great time - Rating 5/5

Ein wundervolles Hotel, großartige Aussicht, leckeres Frühstück. Wir werden sehr gerne wiederkommen.

Reviewer:Bernd M | Sun 7th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Amazing stay! - Rating 5/5

Absolutely loved the place! Excellent food and great hosts.spotless clean and spacious rooms. Definitely recommend staying there! If will travel that way again it will be a must stop over.

Reviewer:Liana M | Fri 5th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Wunderbare Zeit in einem herrlichen Haus mit einem sehr freundlichen Gastgeber - Rating 5/5

Es hätte schöner nicht sein können :-)

Reviewer:Joachim F | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 12 months ago


Amazingly beautiful! - Rating 5/5

A view to dream about all yout life, a room with every comfort, a delicious breakfast with excellent choices, and a really charming host who makes you feel as if you are his personal guest and his friend. In short, a perfect place to enjoy this wonderful part of Scotland.

Reviewer:Morven J | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 12 months ago


Appin Bay View - Rating 5/5

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic time at Appin Bay View Guest House.Mike was an absolute gent of a host, giving tips for local places to go and offering to make dinner reservations for us. The cooked breakfast was fantastic.Obviously the view is fabulous, but the house is very near to great local places to eat and drink as well as being only a short drive from Glencoe.Couldn't recommend highly enough!

Reviewer:Stephen N | Tue 25th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Spent two nights in Appin Bay View in the middle of June in one of the rooms at the front of the property with full sea view. The location of the property is stunning and, even though our weather wasn’t as good as we had hoped, we still benefitted from sitting in the evenings with a drink admiring the views. An added benefit is that it’s only a short walk to the Old Inn where we had dinner on both evenings. Our room was very comfortably finished and there is a great, freshly cooked, breakfast included which set us up for the day. Our host, Mike, was always on hand to help out and nothing was too much trouble - from dining reservations through to chilling a bottle of Prosecco for us in his fridge. There are only five rooms in the property which gives a level of intimacy and personal touch without ever feeling over bearing. We have stayed in the Port Appin/ Appin area before but this was our first time at this property - we will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Gerard T | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

We booked the Appin Bay View for two nights and were extremely glad we did. There was nothing we could fault, from the beautiful room with a view that changed every five minutes with the light, the wonderful breakfast, the warm hospitality from Mike and his family, to the best steaks I have eaten at The Old Inn, (five minute walk). I would highly recommend and will return very soon.

Reviewer:john m | Sat 22nd Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


An Appin Gem - Rating 5/5

Excellent host, staff and facilities.Will definitely stay at Appin View Bay again and will recommend to family and friends.

Reviewer:Margaret C | Fri 21st Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Mesmerising views - Rating 5/5

Outstanding views, superb accommodation, lively, energetic and helpful host - Michael.

Reviewer:TREVOR D | Thu 20th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Highly recommended! - Rating 5/5

Our stay in the Appin Bay View was amazing. The host was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was amazing. And the views to Castle Stalker were stunning.

Reviewer:Diana R | Thu 20th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Stay at Appin Bay View - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay with great hostFabulous room overlooking Castle Stalker

Reviewer:M | Sat 15th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Stunning! - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful 2 night stay. The views are amazing, and our room (The Eyrie) was perfect. Mike was a great host, and sorted bookings for us to eat in the evenings. A bit pricey, but worth every penny. We will return!

Reviewer:Sheila H | Sun 9th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Fantastic views and stays- Rating 5/5

i really don't know where to start with my review as everything was spot on. i couldn't of asked for a batter place to purpose at than Appin Bay View. Mike's knowledge and stories he had told us where brilliant he made us feel so welcome. Breakfast was outstanding with a great selection to offer. i want to thanks the Appin Bay View for a great memory.

Reviewer:Lynn D | Tue 4th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Fabulous place - Rating 5/5

What a find. Fabulous Guest House with amazing views. Mine host was the friendliest person around and made sure everything was exactly right for our visit right down to the lovely touch of 2 wine glasses in the bedroom with a bottle opener so that you could enjoy a drink while sitting on the balcony.Great shower and superb bed just added to it. Highly recommend this place.

Reviewer:Sheila M | Tue 4th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


simply wonderful - Rating 5/5

We absolutely loved our stay here, the warm greeting, the views and the comfort of our room.Mike couldn't have been more helpful, we only wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely recommend

Reviewer:david r | Fri 31st May 2019 | 1 year ago


Mystic view;nice host - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our short 2-night stay with Mike, swapping stories about places we had been to... our room overlooked Appin Bay, with spectacular sunsets!

Reviewer:Horst P | Tue 16th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Mystic view;nice host - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our short 2-night stay with Mike, swapping stories about places we had been to... our room overlooked Appin Bay, with spectacular sunsets!

Reviewer:Horst P | Tue 16th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Fantastic Break - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean and spacious rooms.Great breakfasts, great views, Mike the host is very accomodating and full of useful local information.Very relaxing stay.

Reviewer:Julian m | Mon 25th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Firstly Michael is a really nice guy, friendly informative and can't do enough for you. The hotel is clean and well kept. The views are stunning, hotels perfect for visiting Glen Coe and Oban. The breakfasts are superb and set you up for the day. We'll definitely return in the future.

Reviewer:Alan H | Mon 11th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


A Perfect Get Away - Rating 5/5

Perfect location for my Motorcycle tour in the highlands. Also easy access to islands trips from Oban.Mike very hospitable, and generous with his local knowledge of places to eat out as well as the local history and geography of the area.Nothing too much trouble.The views from the bedroom balcony are just outstanding, and breakfast sets you up for the day

Reviewer:Phil T | Sat 29th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Rae and Peter Gibbens - Rating 5/5

Brilliant stay. Mike was very welcoming.

Reviewer:Peter G | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Stay at appin View b&b, Scotland, s West Coast- Rating 5/5

What a beautiful place appin bay view, mick the owner is a very nice guy he gave us Castle view with a balcony its stunning location overlooking the castle and loch the room was perfect and Mike cooked a cracking Scottish breakfast would definitely recommend the stay to anyone 👍👍

Reviewer:Nick p | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Ottimoooo - Rating 5/5

Ottima vista sul castello camere pulite e spaziose è il titolare simpaticissimo e da dei consigli molto utili

Reviewer:Simone G | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay at Appin Bay - Rating 5/5

Stayed 4 nights at this Guest House. Lovely room, stunning views of the bay and Stalker Castle and a very amicable host, Mike, who kept us entertained throughout the stay. Would definitely recommend!

Reviewer:jonathan c | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


A wonderful setting , we really enjoyed our stay - Rating 5/5

Our room was very comfortable, the view was spectacular, and the hosts are delightful, and very efficient.We intend to return.

Response

Thanks folks...people like you make our job a joy

Reviewer:Anne P | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


You won\'t be disappointed! - Rating 5/5

Nothing to criticise here, lovely house, comfortable room, great host and that amazing view! What more could anyone ask (even the midgies weren't too bad!!).....

Reviewer:Alison C | Fri 20th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Top Notch - Rating 5/5

Mike was a great host and excellent chef. Terrific breakfast. Excellent room-spacious and comfortable. Lovely place!

Reviewer:john b | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 2 years ago


Avis - Rating 5/5

Excellent accueil de Mike - vue fantastique sur le chagesu Stalcker - breakfast avec d'excellents produits - accueil parfait et gentillesse a tout instant - calme. Nous reviendrons sans autre ici. Merci

Reviewer:Bernard V | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 2 years ago


B&B As Good As The View - Rating 5/5

Lovely room, amazing view, superb breakfast and a thoughtful, interesting host.Mike hasn’t seen the last of us!

Reviewer:Susan M | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 2 years ago


A room with a view - Rating 5/5

Top View on Castle Stalker (best to book the big room on the top floor).Very friendly and helpful owner

Reviewer:Michael E | Tue 19th Jun 2018 | 2 years ago


Top location - Rating 5/5

Wonderful view on Castle Staöker and an exceptionallykind owner!

Reviewer:Michael E | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 2 years ago


Top - Rating 5/5

Wonderful view on Castle Staöker and an exceptionallykind owner!

Reviewer:Michael E | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 2 years ago


Top - Rating 5/5

Wonderful view on Castle Staöker and an exceptionallykind owner!

Reviewer:Michael E | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 2 years ago


Top - Rating 5/5

Wonderful view on Castle Staöker and an exceptionallykind owner!

Reviewer:Michael E | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 2 years ago


Exactly as described - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay here. Mike the owner was very welcoming and ensured our stay was comfortable. We loved the area and the view from the balcony. Room was large and bed very comfortable. It is exactly as described. We are hoping we can return but for a longer stay next time. We had our evening meal at the nearby Creagan Inn which was fantastic.

Reviewer:Kath G | Wed 6th Jun 2018 | 2 years ago


\"Pure dead brilliant\" - Rating 5/5

We could not agree more with the outstanding reviews about this marvellous guest house!This is one of the most memorable B&B stays we've ever had! The view from our beautiful and spacious room was utterly breathtaking. The generous breakfast was delicious and Mike,our cheery hospitable host, was the icing on the cake.We shall return..... even if we have to walk from Glasgow!

Reviewer:james s | Fri 25th May 2018 | 2 years ago


Can\'t be better - Rating 5/5

The views, Mike (the owner), the silence, the landscape around,the dinner at the Old Inn (100 meters away), the bath looking at the stars...We'll be back for sure.

Reviewer:Jasón H | Sun 17th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


The perfect get away - Rating 5/5

I have just spent 5 glorious days at Appin Bay View. A superior guest house with 5 star quality from the beds to the breakfasts. The attention to detail is second to none, with South East Asian influences in the decor and furnishings. The host is well-travelled, extremely hospitable, humorous, and a fount of local knowledge. He makes everything special and goes out of his way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie M | Sat 25th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Very comfortable accommodation - Rating 5/5

Just enjoyed a couple of nights at Appin Bay View - very comfortable accommodation - Mike looked after us very well giving us great information about the area.The breakfasts were lovely and tasty.

Reviewer:Margaretha S | Fri 24th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Very comfortable & clean - Rating 5/5

A recently renovated large house with wonderful view.A generous welcome.

Reviewer:Chris O | Thu 28th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Relaxing at its best! - Rating 5/5

The perfect place to relax,- extremely comfortable with individual touches of elegance in each of the guest rooms, all surrounded by awesome views and Mike, the perfect host, who apart from producing such splendid breakfasts, is that hive of knowledge and experience that makes your stay rewarding and memorable.Thoroughly recommended in all quarters.

Reviewer:Mrs B | Sat 16th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Fantastic location and genial host - Rating 5/5

I was sorry I could only stay here for one night before moving on.A warm welcome from the patron, followed by a pleasant chat with other residents while sitting outside admiring the most amazing view made the long drive from the east coast well worth it.Stunning location, very comfortable bed and fresh clean decor make this a 'must return' location.And breakfast was great too - sustained me all the way to sunny Ardnamurchan!

Reviewer:Carolyn S | Thu 7th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


A glorious view and total comfort- Rating 5/5

We had a two nights stay at Appin Bay View. It is a real find. We were absolutely delighted with every aspect of our stay. We enjoyed the most glorious view from our bedroom and dining room. The welcome was warm with Mike so helpful with his knowledge of the area. We shall definitely come back to stay.

Reviewer:Mary B | Tue 22nd Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

Mike is a great host, clearly afflicted with the hospitality gene.Room was spotless.Views were world class.Breakfast was abundant and efficient.Conversation was engaging and interesting.Most of all, as a hotellier myself, i am aware that one measure of a property is the quality of the towels.Mike's are the highest quality - large, soft and warm.I will return for many reasons, among them the towels.

Reviewer:Robert W | Wed 9th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Great stay- Rating 5/5

Beautiful view ,comfortable rooms and fantastic breakfastAmazing hospitality

Response

Thank you for visiting Appin Bay view and thank you for the fantastic review. I enjoyed chatting with you all very much and if I am ever back in the Emirates I will be sure to give you a call. Enjoy your time back home.AyeMike

Reviewer:VIMI J | Wed 26th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Safe & Secure Payment
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi